Thank You

In a very short time span, I was notified that I had received 1000 likes, 100 follows, and it was the one year anniversary of starting this blog.  I.  Am.  STOKED.

I mean I had this crazy idea that I’d “get discovered” and someone would pay me to travel the world with my critters and eat all over the place and spend my days wandering the countryside.  But then reality set in.

It took me a little bit to think about what it is that I’m doing here.  I would look at the counter of people following along (side note: I don’t like the term followers) and wonder why it wasn’t growing.  Then I realized that I had to actually network which has never been my strong suit.

I thought that my success was measured by the little number on the side that showed how many people were having my little stories pop up on their readers.  For a bit, I thought about shutting it down because that number wasn’t really growing.

Then I actually looked a little bit deeper.  Even though I don’t have a ton of people who clicked that “follow” button, I saw that I have a very high proportion of people that I actually engage with and have dialogue with and interact with.  I may not be able to go to a company and say “Hey I have thousands of people who read what I write so give me something” but I feel that I have a much more meaningful relationship with the people who take the time out of their busy lives to read about what a woman from Ontario is going with her three dogs.  And that’s much more valuable and special than the people who mindlessly click in the “Like” button.

A sincere thank you to each and every one of you who reads about our adventures and I hope that you continue to travel with us as we explore the world…one road at a time.

IMG_6613

Piper’s all smiles.

IMG_7003

I think this is the look of pure bliss.

IMG_7050

Leo trying (and failing) to be coy.

11 thoughts on “Thank You

Leave a Reply

