The Road to Q-Demption – Day 7

April 25, 2016

Starting mileage 3128.6

When we first pulled into the campground, two of the sites had been occupied.  When I poked my head out of the tent in the morning, we were the only ones left.  I can be accused of many things but being an early riser is definitely not one of them. I thought about making breakfast but still couldn’t bear the thought of eating anything so we went for a short walk before breaking camp.

When we had passed through Tellico Plains the evening before, I had noticed a bakery and figured a nice cup of coffee was in order.  Just because I wasn’t hungry didn’t mean I couldn’t get caffeinated. So we went back into town.  And the bakery was closed.  I had forgotten that it was Monday after all.  Somewhat dejected, I started to drive out of town when I happened to look to my left and saw a small brick shed with a sign that read “Tellico Jail”.  I don’t know if it was actually a jail but I had to stop for a quick picture.

IMG_6700
Looking unimpressed with me.
Then I saw the local visitor centre and the sign out front said that they had the best T-shirts for the “Tail of the Dragon”.  Now I had heard of this road which is supposed to be a big draw for motorcycles.  I decided to pop in and find out more.  In the parking lot I  saw what looked like a shrub pruned in the shape of a dragon.

IMG_6703
Giant shrub dragon. Whatever.
The Tail of the Dragon is a section of Highway 129 that is 11 miles long but has 318 curves.  When I told the woman working there that I was in the area and thinking about driving it, she hesitated then said that today would be a good day since it wouldn’t be as busy.  I’ll admit, I was a bit nervous about it.  For some reason I had this image in my head of broken pavement, sheer cliffs, narrow roads.  But I figured that since I was here I had to at least check it out.  She pulled out a map to give me directions and told me I would have to go along the Cherohala Skyway and that there was some great scenery along there.  I made a crack about having been through there yesterday and it was just like home, only with bigger hills.  She gave me kind of a puzzled look before going back to the map.  I could either take a big loop and drive the Tail from north to south which is how most people do it or take a more direct route to go from south to north.  Since I had to go north anyway, it was an easy decision to make.  Of course now that I had a map in hand, I noticed that I had crisscrossed the park I don’t know how many times in the past 24 hours.  Part of the fun of freestyle road tripping I guess.

With a stack of maps and brochures tucked under my arm, I went back to the car and out to  the road.  It did not take me long to realize that the day before, I had actually taken a wrong turn and was never on the Skyway.  Those nice hills that I had seen were actually foothills.  Well didn’t I feel the ass when I sorted that out.  The Skyway was exactly how I had thought it would be and on par with the Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park.

DSC04134
Definitely not like the hills at home.
There is a restaurant and motel at the bottom of the Tail and we stopped there before tackling the drive.  I certainly did not fit in with the crowd: a lone woman and three dogs in a Corolla with Ontario plates do stand out.  My nerves were not settled when I saw the high-end sports cars or the pack of motorcycles that pulled in talking about how their brakes were smoking.  What had I gotten us into?!?!  They even have signs for having your photo taken as you drive.

After strapping the dogs in, I sat in the drivers seat and steeled myself for the drive.  Music on and at a good level?  Check.  Everyone peed?  Check.  Hungry?  Still no.  Weird but I’ll think about that later.  We have a dragon tail to drive.  And here. We. Go.

IMG_6705
They don’t seem concerned at all.
It was not what I thought it would be.  The road was the same road the I had been driving.  There weren’t sheer cliffs.  And the road was not only standard width but there were even places to pull off.  I just drove nice and slow and waved at the photo stands on some of the corners.  Now had I been on a motorcycle and driving quickly for bragging rights, then it would be terrifying.  Fortunately there wasn’t much for scenery that I could see so I wasn’t tempted to look anywhere and didn’t feel cheated out of the sights.  The odd thing was that there wasn’t a restaurant at the north end of the Tail.  I guess I did it backwards.

Fortunately there were plenty of other spots to stop and enjoy and we made frequent stops as we drove.  With the clock ticking away before I had to be back home, the drive was not as leisurely as it could have been even with our little walk breaks.  As we were approaching Cincinnati, Ohio I noticed there were a lot of signs for campgrounds.  Wanting to make the most of a mostly open road, I decided to wait until we passed through before putting in for the night.  I thought that with campgrounds to the south, there would be campgrounds to the north.  Well that backfired because I did not see a single sign north of the city.  You would think by now that I would have learned my lesson and done some research ahead of time.

Finally as we approached Dayton, Ohio, I saw there was a Red Roof Inn.  Perfect.  The room wasn’t as nice as the one we had stayed at in Greensboro but it was clean and I was tired.  And finally hungry.  I tried to order a pizza from a restaurant that was 7 kms away.  They told me I was outside of their delivery area.  By this point I was so tired, I didn’t care and crawled into bed.  Apparently I found the really comfy spot on the pillow because Leo decided to use me instead.

 

Posted by

Follow three dogs (and their human) as they roam the open roads.

One thought on “The Road to Q-Demption – Day 7

Leave a Reply

