But Not For Long…

September 7, 2015

What’s a girl to do when she has a vacation so soon after a western cross country road trip? Go on another one of course. I mean, why unpack everything?  We were home just long enough to clean the tent, do the laundry, and re-stock our food supplies.

Standard road trip rules would apply:

  1.  NO CHAIN RESTAURANTS
  2. Stop when we want to
  3. Stop where we want to
  4. Don’t plan too far ahead
  5. Listen to the radio until there is no signal
  6. Road trip bottle is Jura Superstition.

And so began Road Trip 2015 – East Edition.

We rolled out at 5:00 am and soon found ourselves driving toward the rising sun. We had to stop in Prescott, which is close to the Quebec border, to fill up the gas tank and, wouldn’t you know it, there’s a coffee shop not too far away. We enjoyed one of the best americano’s I have ever had with an aljour. Imagine two shortbread cookies sandwiching dulce de leche and drizzled with chocolate. Not too shabby. We sat by the St. Lawrence River and relaxed for a few minutes before we left and continued east on the 401.

I checked the weather a few times and heard that thunderstorms were coming our way. So much for the tent tonight. We checked into Hotel Dauphin in Quebec City just before 3:00 pm. It was a very nice hotel and the gentleman that checked me in was extremely polite and helpful.  We went into our room and after making sure everyone had a nice long drink of water, I did a quick bit of searching and found a park not too far away. We went to walk to the car aaannnnnnnndddd rain.  Not a little rain but a lot of rain; the kind where you can barely see what’s on the other side of the parking lot. The rain subsided after a brief deluge, and I decided to take our chances and drive to the park.

It was a nice urban park on the side of the St. Charles River and the rain held off for a while. And then we stumbled upon an honest to goodness dog park. With a fence. And dogs. Lots of dogs.

IMG_4495

Posing in Quebec City.

I knew that Jack and Leo would be no problem. Piper? Well Ms. Piper does not always play well with others. We hung out in the entry section for a bit as almost a dozen dogs mobbed the fence. They had a happy vibe. Piper seemed chill. Ok let’s give this a shot.

I was so proud of my girl. She ran and sniffed and ran some more. Jack went and found a couple sitting on a bench and hung out with them. And Leo kept trying to hump a pitbull. I had a couple of dogs hang out with me so a good time was had by all.  After a while Piper and Leo were sniffing less and walking with me more so I figured they were ready to leave. Jack tends to conserve his energy (which is a nice way of saying he can be lazy) so he was ready to go when we were.

IMG_4496

You can just make out my dogs are at the far side of the park. Nice to know they trust me around other dogs.

We were just about at the car when the skies opened up again. The rain was so heavy that I could barely see the front of the car as we navigated the streets back to the hotel.  I couldn’t even see the road signs at some points and had to rely on the GPS telling me when to turn.

Once we were safely back at the room the next mission was to find food. With it being Labour Day the options were limited. And Yelp, while it is an awesome app is not always accurate with some things: like whether a restaurant delivers. And then the language barrier when I called a few places. After wasting who knows how long, I finally just loaded everyone back into the car and started driving.

And driving and driving and driving.  Just as I was about to admit defeat there, like a beacon calling to me from the darkness, I saw a sign. Royale Pizza. Well don’t mind if I do.

Pizza safely secured in the car and back to the hotel we went. Wow. One of the best pizzas I have ever had. And that is saying a lot dear reader.  If you have been reading some of the past posts you will have noticed that I have eaten quite a lot of pizza.  It was worth the wait. Especially with a little swig of Jura.  With full stomaches we were soon asleep.

Leave a Reply

