The Ocean

April 26, 2015

This morning I was actually able to have my breakfast in my room for the first time in a few days. No need to wich my waffle! As this was to be my last day south, I planned my route based on available hotels. After sorting through a mess of hotels either way out of my price range or not accepting of animals, I settled on Havelock North Carolina. The reasoning being: close to a large state park, looks close to the ocean, and a Marine base city so there should be some history. Nope. Nope. And huge nope.


We headed straight there with a few short walk breaks including one along the Neuse River and then rolled into Havelock. I certainly would not recommend it as a travel destination.  Now please let me clarify: when we were in Watertown there were old buildings to look at, there was a town centre, there was this feeling that all were welcome.  I’m not saying that Havelock was not a nice city, it just did not have the same charm.  In fact, I’m not sure if we ever made it to the town centre.  If I had to find a word to describe it, I would say the town was tired.


We checked into the Days Inn and ask about good local restaurants. We were sent to Crabby Pattys right up the street and got an order of shrimp cooked three ways then tried to find a spot to park and eat. Well nothing on the main road and no obvious spots for a good view so we kept driving to the nearby coast.  
At the Crystal Coast visitor center we stopped and I shared the shrimp before asking about a good spot to go.

Road Trip 2015-spring edition 255
Piper more than ready to help with the shrimp.

The woman working there gave me directions to the coast as well as a few good places to stop for food.  We set off with down the road with directions and a stack of brochures, crossing over to Brogue island. I stopped to grab a shrimp burger and slice of cheesecake and then we went to the beach.


We sat on the sea wall and shared (yes we actually shared) the burger and cheesecake.
Then, on Sunday April 26 at 5:51 pm, three wayward travelers from southern Ontario stepped into the frigid waters of the Atlantic Ocean for the first time. There was no one to witness this event besides the flocks of gulls and plovers that shared the beach.

A journey of five days and 2773.6 km reached its furthest point as we walked the sands of the coast.  I still remember sitting on the wall, watching the waves as they crashed onto the beach with Piper and Jack sitting next to me.  Normally their desire to explore would have them straining at the leash, but they sat next to me as though for some reason they knew that this was the end of the drive south.  Slowly we made our way back to the car as the gulls flew overhead.

Road Trip 2015-spring edition 260
Our tracks in the sand.

And in the failing light, we returned to the hotel and prepared to allow the wind to blow us back home.

Leave a Reply

